Abs and Figure Skating

So last month (wow….it’s already been a month seeing as it is now Feb 1!!!!!!!!) I moved into my friends home so that we could commute to school together for 6 weeks – we have 6 weeks of classes together followed by placements until the end of April.

Since moving in, I’ve felt very welcomed and very at home really. It feels like her home has become my home away from home with another set of surrogate parents and another sister. It’s actually been really nice and I can’t thank them enough for taking me in for 6 weeks and being so open about everything.

It actually kind of reminds me of first year when I first met her. Rewind back 4 years (holy crap) to when we first met in Grand River Hall 5500. I remember it was a little bit awkward seeing as there were 5 girls and 1 female don. 6 girls in one apartment is pretty hectic but we actually managed very well (thankfully). I am eternally grateful that I was sent to room with these 5 other girls and I’m so glad that we all got along so well. I heard so many horror stories from the other people on my floor that it just made me all the more appreciative of having such good roommates who are so like-minded.

Anyways, back to the original topic. Since moving in with my friend and her family, me and her have had these moments of laughing fits. I’m not talking about occasional laughter here and there. I’m talking about full blown seal-like clapping silent laughs that make your cheeks hurt and your ribs ache. That’s what we’ve been having recently and man, am I ever getting an ab workout. I swear, before the end of these 6 weeks I’ll have abs of steel.

The first time it happened was when something happened and instead of saying “oh shit!”she ended up saying “oh pooh!”. Now I’m not really sure why I found that so friggin’ funny but I did and my laughing fit started. At first it was a normal laugh but then once she started laughing I started laughing even harder (I guess laughter is just as contagious as a yawn). From there I think we were both laughing at each other’s laughter and then we couldn’t stop. If she stopped for a second I would giggle and then she’d start up again – put this on repeat for what felt like a million years but was probably around 8 minutes.

The second incident was when her boyfriend came over and our other friend came over as well (he and I commute back to Toronto on the weekends) and we were playing dominos. We flipped all the tiles over so that we could shuffle them and I guess our one friend flipped a blank tile over but didn’t notice until she pointed it out. Now, I’m not really sure why I found that to be hilarious but alas, cue the silent seal-clapping laughter that spread like wildfire. Me and her instantly died in a fit of audible giggles which then led to silent gasps that left our cheeks aching. Her boyfriend and our buddy were literally sitting there like WTF. Eventually our buddy started to laugh a bit and of course, I laughed even harder but I think he realized this would happen and kept doing it just to make me suffer (I know, such amazing friends I have eh?).

The third incident actually happened today in class. I was scrolling Facebook instead of paying attention in class (I know, I know. I’m a skilled multi-tasker!) when I came across this meme:

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-1-25-36-am

Like who wouldn’t get a chuckle out of this amiright?! But nope. I immediately showed this to her and I broke out into a fit of giggles and so did she! So, again those giggles spread between us two and I literally had to cover my mouth to contain myself because this happened during class. Trying to contain your laughter and keeping quiet in class is so hard. All the while, our other friend was a tad upset with us two giggling girls because he couldn’t hear the instructions of the assignment – and of course, us two girls had no idea what we had to do.

But in the end, these 3 fits of uncontrollable seal-clapping were probably caused due to exhaustion (on 2 occasions both of us got very little sleep) so we were at that point where you’re so tired that everything and anything becomes so funny.

 

Now, onwards to the next topic: Figure Skating!

Today in our gym class we were to meet at the local civic center to learn how to skate! Exciting right?! No. I don’t particularly like to skate because of 2 reasons:

  1. I’m not very good at it
  2. The relationship between me and ice is never good. By that I mean the ice always wins and I end up flat on my ass wiping the eff out. The ice is a very unforgiving mistress.

But, I decided to bite the bullet and just give it a shot (but I mean it was also part of my participation grade so I guess that had a little bit of sway too). I borrowed a pair of skates from my other friend, laced em up and braced myself for what would feel like a very long 60 minutes. Initially, I was very weary of the ice and I was essentially hugging the wall whenever I had the chance. Me and the wall became best friends today. But once the actual lesson started I was forced to part ways with my new bestie. We were split into groups – beginners and advanced. Guess where I went?! You’re right! The advanced class (just kidding). From here, I wasn’t allowed to hug the wall anymore (cries) but I did receive some help/pointers/tips from my classmates who were teaching the class.

In the end, I actually really enjoyed myself. Skating isn’t as bad as I remember it being. I actually find that skating is very similar to skiing – which I have had tons of experience doing (but I mean I’m still an amateur at best in skiing).

Also as a side note, I highly admire anyone who can skate because that is such a beautiful and graceful thing to do. So when I went into the rink to lace my skates up I sat there gawking at my classmates who were already on the ice skating away looking like the graceful swans that they are. Such speed, such elegance! Such WOW!

Be sure to look out for me as I prepare for my figure skating debut friends! I’m going to make it all the way to the olympics baby!

(But in all serious-ness though, a girl can dream right?)

Leave a comment