Movie Reviews

So within the last 2 weeks, I watched 2 movies:

  1. Kubo and the Two Strings
  2. Don’t Breathe

Now, let me put this out there – I am easily impressed by most movies. I can count the number of movies on one hand that I have not been impressed or completely obsessed about. So when I say they’re movie reviews, it’s more like me appreciating these movies more than anything really.

Now, let’s go forth so you can share my feelings of awe and love for these two movies yes?

Kubo-and-the-Two-Strings-2016

“If you must blink, do it now. Pay careful attention to everything you see no matter how unusual it may seem. If you look away, even for an instant, then our hero will surely perish” 

Now, when it comes to animated films, they always get to me. Every. Single. Time. Now, I wouldn’t say that I’m an easy crier – the truth is I actually have a heart of stone. Nothing phases me, much less makes me cry. But every time I find myself sitting down to watch an animated film? That all goes out the window. Pull out the tissues because I’m going to start bawling like a baby in no time. Well, it’s no surprise really but this movie made me cry quite a few times. If you want a movie that will tug on your heart strings this is the movie for you. You want a movie that’ll make you a blubbering mess? This is definitely the movie for you.

I don’t want to give away any spoilers because you need to experience this movie for yourself but essentially, I would say that Kubo is your typical fairytale. You have the young hero who has their trusty sidekicks to guide them on their quest. The hero encounters the villain and so on. But the thing that I found quite refreshing was how this movie incorporated traditions and mythology. For example, this movie used the tradition of visiting the grave sites of deceased loved ones, praying for them and lighting a lantern. Once a lantern is lit, you set it free along a river and this symbolizes a path for the dead to follow into the spirit world.

The characters in this movie were quite interesting as well. There was a bit of humour here and there but there were also some frightening scenes – but I mean it’s a children’s movie so it wasn’t too too scary. But throughout the entire movie, I was waiting for more. It felt as if I was on the journey with Kubo – it did everything that a fairy tale does. It traps you, drags you in and forces you to sit through it until the very end. I mean, who doesn’t like a happy ending right? Or who doesn’t like experiencing a heroic journey without doing any of the hard labour?! Talk about a good deal!

All in all, I would rate Kubo and the Two Strings a 7.5/10 on the cry-o-meter. Meaning, you will most definitely cry (or at least get misty-eyed) at some point in this movie.

maxresdefault

This movie was essentially a horror/thriller I think. It’s one of those movies where you don’t really know what to expect but in the end you’re glad you watched it. This movie literally kept me on the edge of my seat. I felt like a goldfish during the entire duration of the movie – my eyes were bugging out and my mouth was opening and closing. Everything about this movie was well done.

The main idea behind this movie is essentially revenge. You have 4 main characters: 3 thieves who break into a war veteran’s home hoping to rob him of his giant stack of money and 1 war veteran who is also blind. Now, at first I didn’t know who’s side I wanted to be on – the 3 thieves or the war veteran. Needless to say, I flip flopped a lot but all characters we’re just…decent people put in crappy situations. This movie made me jump quite a few times and also made me cringe. Honestly, this movie is just one of those where you have to watch in theatres to get the full effect. Take in all that surround sound to get the full effect you know? It’ll make you sweat or at least get your heart racing a little bit.

Overall, this movie was a 6/10 on the holy-shit-o-meter. Honestly, I’d be surprised if you didn’t say “holy shit” at least once during this movie.

 

Leave a Reply

