Adulting 101

So, this week is actually quite bittersweet. I’m in the last week of my fourth year education and needless to say, it couldn’t have come faster (except it came up super fast and knocked me on my ass). BUT none the less, I’m glad it’s here, but also not at the same time.

This year, I was blessed enough to have zero exams (not sure what I did, but thank goodness for that!) but in exchange for no exams, I was bombarded with thousands and thousands of assignments and essays. But hey – I suppose it’s a fair trade.

Anyways, this isn’t the topic I wanted to talk about.

It’s actually about me being forced accepting my role as a responsible adult within the world. I mean I am 21 after all, legal everywhere to consume alcohol and gamble all the money I don’t have away. I know off to an amazing start – not.

But, I recently received two emails, asking for recommendations from one of my previous volunteers. Now, I’m used to asking others for recommendations never the other way around and when I saw these two emails I was quite shocked. Someone’s asking for my recommendation? Me?! It’s actually quite flattering, and I want more people to do it but you know whatever. Regardless, I took on this responsibility and wrote up a stellar recommendation – also because they were legitimately good at their job so…I give credit where it’s due.

Despite this, I feel like I’m one step closer to becoming an adult. Like a real adult, not an adult that I pretend to be because let’s get serious. Mommy and daddy still take care of me because I’m a broke student who can’t actually afford anything in life. SO.

If this is what adulting is all about sign me up! I like being looked up at and validating someone’s work ethic.

Leave a Reply

