The Cycle of Leg Day

I’ve recently hit the gym again (for now that is… fingers crossed though!) and I decided to do a brutal leg day (it’s only brutal because I’ve been out of the gym for at least a month… I know, shame on me).

Essentially it consisted of a 5 minute warm up on a spin bike and then the real fun began:

  • 50lb leg press – 10 reps for warm-up
  • 70lb leg press – 10 reps round 1
  • 90lb leg press – 10 reps round 2
  • 100lb leg press – 10 reps round 3
  • 100lb leg press – 12 reps final round
  • 30lb hamstring extension – 10 reps round 1
  • 40lb hamstring extension – 20 reps rounds 2 and 3

Now at this point my legs we’re already shaking, but I still had enough to keep going so I did.

  • 60 donkey kicks – 10 kicks each leg – rounds 1-3
  • 10 donkey kicks – right side plus 10 side kicks – round 1
  • 10 donkey kicks – left side plus 10 side kicks – round 2
  • Donkey kicks continued on with side kicks for 1 more round
  • 10 Bulgarian elevated split squats – right leg – round 1
  • 10 Bulgarian elevated split squats – left leg – round 2
  • Bulgarian elevated split squats continued on for 4 more rounds

After my intense leg and glute day I stretched the hell out of my muscles – quads, hamstrings, groin and glutes. Always stretch. 

Anyways – now that I’ve explained my gym session, I’m going to explain the cycle I always go through when I have leg days like these:

Day 1: the day you actually do leg day

baby giraffe

You’re feeling good, got a good pump going and probably sweating a bit. Enjoying your workout and boom it’s finally time to call it quits and stretch out. Walking down the steps to get to the change room = baby giraffe stage: my legs are so wobbly that I almost fall down the stairs but I don’t because I’m smart and hold on for dear life on the hand railings. Walking to the change room? Same situation but with a little more finesse but still essentially a baby giraffe learning how to walk for the first time.

Day 2: the day after you did leg day

Wake up dreading the pain you’ll feel in your lumbar region but wake up pleasantly surprised! No pain, hop out of bed and resume normal day routines – no need to prepare yet. Half the day passes? You can feel it coming on but you’re still in the human stage: you can still walk like a sane person but you can definitely feel a little something happening in those legs.

Day 3: postponed  pain and cue T-Rex sounds

trex

Here it is, the day you’ve been dreading. It’s that day that all people know to be true – the t-rex stage: your legs are so sore that wherever you go you can feel your legs protesting. Need to grab a snack? Soreness. Need to pee? Even worse! Try sitting on that toilet without gritting your teeth – even before you go! Need to sit down and get up from a chair? Nope! You grip everything within reach in order to haul your sore legs/ass up – here’s where you make those t-rex-like sounds. You know the sound, that weird screech/groan/cry you make whenever you try to do any mundane task that seemed so easy to do a few days ago. Yes, that sound. 

Day 4: the duck waddle

duck.gif

This day isn’t as bad but it’s still bad. Probably around 98% bad instead of 100% – but hey improvement is improvement. You try walking to and fro but you end up waddling like a little baby duckling. Need to walk to class? Waddle, waddle, waddle. Need to walk to the bathroom? Cue the waddle. Someone cat-calls you? No!! I’m not shaking these hips and walking stiff-legged to impress you fool! I’m walking like this because I’m healing from leg day! Sheesh! (notice: this doesn’t actually happen but this is what I would imagine would happen if it did really happen)

Day 5: back to the Human Form 

Finally! It has arrived! The day where you’re back to normal and going to take a pee is a breeze. No gritting teeth, no duck waddles and especially no t-rex sounds! Alas! It’s over! But then you go back in the next week to kill it again with an amazing leg day. Then the cycle repeats. And repeats.

But you love it.

Lift heavy, stay strong and eat well friends!

gym.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

