Sweet Potato Chilli

This is my attempt at starting to become an (amateur) food blogger! I hate to say it but I don’t actually have a lot of recipes that I make on the regular but I do have a few that I’d say are my favourite (read: the ones I make the most) but today’s recipe is as the title mentions.

Sweet Potato Chilli!

I could go on about the various nutritional values that it has and how much protein, carbs and yadda yadda yadda but to be honest? I really don’t know anything about that stuff. All I know is that this dish is absolutely amazing and delicious. It keeps me full throughout the night and when I have a full belly I’m a happy camper.

I’d also like to throw in that He enjoys it as well – but you know, He’ll eat just about anything so I guess it doesn’t really provide much credit.

Anyways! Onwards to the recipe!

But first, a picture with a cleverly thought out caption by yours truly

screenshot_2016-03-14-20-13-05.png

You will need:

  • 3 garlic cloves – loosely chopped
  • 1/4 of a red onion – loosely chopped
  • Ground pork/chicken – I’ve tried both and they’re both equally delicious
  • Chilli powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Cayenne pepper powder – don’t put too much or else the heat will sneak up on ya! Unless you love the spicy foods then this will give you quite a punch
  • 1-2 cups chicken broth
  • 4 celery stalks – chopped
  • 4 carrots – I didn’t actually add carrots in this time but I usually do
  • 1 can of beans – I used assorted which had chickpeas, black-eyed peas and kidney beans but of course you can use any type of canned beans you’d like – as long as they aren’t the one’s in molasses
  • 1 can of whole tomatoes
  • Oil – any kind of oil will do
  • 5-6 white mushrooms – loosely chopped
  • 3 sweet potatoes – peeled and chopped

Onwards to the steps!

Step 1: in a pot throw in approximately 2 tablespoons of oil along with your loosely chopped garlic and onions. Let them brown a little bit until they start to smell real good

Step 2: once your onion and garlic are starting to smell delicious, throw in your ground pork/chicken and let that cook until it’s all browned. While your pork is cooking toss in 2 pinches of salt, pepper and cayenne pepper powder. Don’t forget to add in tons of chilli powder – the way I do it is I dust the meat while it’s cooking in the pot until most of it is covered in chilli powder (you can never have too much I always say!)

Step 3: pour in your 2 cups of chicken broth, the entire can of whole tomatoes, your celery, mushrooms and carrots. Turn the heat down to a simmer and let everything boil together – I usually like to squish the tomatoes in the pot to get more juices going

Step 4: when you’ve given it time to simmer throw in your sweet potatoes and beans – but don’t forget to wash and strain them! You don’t want any of that bean gunk getting in your chilli

Step 5: let your chilli simmer for about 15 minutes – or at least until most of the liquid is gone and has been absorbed into the veggies and meat

and Voila! There you have it a delicious pot of sweet potato chilli that makes my belly warm.

Add in some cooked rice, shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream and you’re good to go!

Let your tastebuds rejoice and may your bellies always be full

Leave a Reply

